Name Change and Broadened Focus for Optics at Oregon

The Oregen Center for Optical, Molecular and Quantum Science (formerly Oregon Center for Optics) has broadened it's focus and membership. The center seeks to expand beyond optical science into spectroscopy, quantum science and more interdisciplinary optics related research and teaching. The center has added new members in chemistry and physics.

Raymer Receives Research Faculty Excellence Award

The OCO is pleased to announce that Professor Michael Raymer has won a Research Faculty Excellence Award in the category of "Outstanding Career" from the University of Oregon Office of Research Innovation.

Professor Raymer has been with the University of Oregon since 1988. He is a Knight Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences and author of the textbook,"The Silicon Web: Physics for the Internet Age"

Nazin receives NSF CAREER Award

OCO Associate member and assistant professor of Chemistry, George Nazin was among the select few top young scientists to recieve an NSF-CAREER award.

Professor Nazin's research focuses around developing novel scanning probe techniques for atomic-resolution spectroscopic studies of physics and chemistry in molecular and nanoscale materials.

More information about Professor Nazin

OCO's Andrew Marcus and Collaborators Featured on US Office of Science Page

OCO Member and Chemistry Department Chair Andy Marcus is featured on the UO Web site for collaborative work in spectroscopy.  The full press release can be found below.

The press release was featured on the US Office of Sciene main page under University Research.

Marcus Elected APS Fellow

OCO Faculty Member Andrew Marcus has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).

The APS is a non-profit organiztion working to "advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities."  The APS was founded in 1899 and has a membership of 50,000.

APS fellows are members deemed to have made "exceptional contributions" to the discipline of physics.  Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by a comittee.  

Marcus Receives Faculty Excellence Award

Professor Andrew Marcus of the Oregon Center for Optics and Department of Chemistry has been selected to recieve a Fund for Faculty Excllence Award for 2014-2015.

Wang Named to Serve on Optica Editorial Board

Professor Hailin Wang will serve as a member of the "renowned" editorial boad for the new Optical Soc

iety of America (OSA) high-impact, open-access journal.  The new journal, Titled Optica will focus on cutting edge optics and photonics research.  It will be publiched online only.  The first issue will be released in July.  

Marcus Group Research Featured on Pacific Conference on Spectroscopy and Dynamics

Images from research conducted by the Andrew Marcus lab in the OCO was featured on the cover of the program for the annual Pacific Conference on Spectroscopy and Dynamics.

1st Annual "Why Study Science?" Panel

The University of Oregon STEMCORE and SPICE Programs will be hosting the first annual "Why Study Science?" Panel, directed towards current high schoolers interested in, or curious about, studying science in college. It will be held on January 22nd, 2014 at 6:30pm in UO's Willamette Hall, room 110.